Ph.D. Octopus

Politics, media, music, capitalism, scholarship, and ephemera since 2010

In Case Anyone Cares What I Think about Wikileaks

with 3 comments

By Wiz

1. I don’t understand why people, by and large, are ignoring the fact that Obama has been waging an illegal war in Yemen? To me, this trumps everything else. I know we’ve just all agreed to completely ignore the Constitutional requirement to get congressional approval before military action. But aren’t people just a tad bit concerned that their government is waging secret wars without democratic consent? I guess Obama has been learning a bit too much from hanging out with Henry Kissinger. I’m sure there is some sophistical and technical reason someone can give me why this is different than Nixon bombing Cambodia, but I don’t see it. We dropped more bombs on Cambodia, I guess, but that’s a quantitative, not qualitative, distinction. And hey! You both get Nobel Peace Prizes!

2. Is there anything more disgusting than the bursts of self-righteousness from the Obama administration? I’ll make a deal, Mr. President. You agree that you can’t assassinate us whenever and wherever you feel like it, you follow through on even 10% of your campaign promises regarding civil liberties, and we’ll stop cheering on the non-violent spread of (redacted) information from the State Department. You can’t systemically undermine our privacy and then go crying about yours.

3. This stuff is embarrassing, but not really dangerous for America. Insiders mostly knew all this stuff anyway (at least, that’s what this friendly British guy told me on Democracy Now). I’d say its impact is more in the realm of one more brick in the wall in the steady decline of the moral authority of the American Empire.

Written by Peter Wirzbicki

November 29, 2010 at 17:36

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I mostly agree with this assessment, though by and large my reaction to the “revelations” was “meh.” Was there anything all that new or surprising in there?

    weiner

    November 29, 2010 at 19:27

  2. Wiz is awesome. Like you’re able to sort of leave the academia behind in your opinions, and engage a personal voice with sharp honest instincts. In other words, I’d sign up for you newsletter.

    steve

    November 29, 2010 at 22:33

  3. eh, you can use that quote when you do.

    steve

    November 29, 2010 at 22:36


Leave a Reply

